Lansbury Lawrence Primary School Governing Board

The school is governed by a board of 14 governors, some of whom are elected and others appointed. The Governing Board has a significant role in making strategic decisions, particularly on finance, and in holding the school to account through its challenge to the Head Teacher. The governing board of Lansbury Lawrence School usually meets four times a year. The members at 1 January 2024 are:

Governors Governor name			Date of current appoint	Date of Expiry	Category/ Appointed by	Term of office in years	Entry in register of business interests	Attendance G B 2022-23 (School Year)
1	Owen	O'Regan	Ex officio	Ex officio	HEAD Ex Officio	Ex officio	Trustee, Tower Hamlets Education Partnership. School purchases services from THEP.	4/4
2	Tim	Harrington	01/07/21	30/06/25	STAFF/ Elected	4	Assistant Head at Lansbury Lawrence	4/4
3	Ona	Mareviciute	25/06/21	24/06/25	PARENT/ Elected	4	None	2/4
4	Fatima	Kagwa	29/04/22	28/04/26	PARENT/ Elected	4	Child attends Bygrove	4/4
5	Shalina	Hussain	29/04/22	28/04/26	PARENT/ Elected	4	None	4/4
6	Farhana	Begum	06/10/20	05/10/24	LA / Governing Board	4	None	4/4
7	Geoff	Cannell	19/05/20	18/05/24	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4	Fan Makers Charity Committee Grant Secretary	3/4
8	Antony	Robson	26/03/23	25/03/27	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4	Milestone & Collis Ltd Chartered Surveyors: Owner/ KR Capital: Owner	3/4
9	Kirsty	Lowry	17/06/22	16/06/26	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4	Whitechapel Gallery: Employee Curator: Schools and Teachers	4/4
10	Kieran	Wilson	26/03/23	25/03/27	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4		3/3
11	Fiona	Tighe VICE CHR	23/03/21	22/03/25	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4	Gatehouse School E2: SLT, Designated Safeguarding Lead	4/4
12	Jamie	Karia	28/11/23	27/11/27	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4	None	N/A
13	India	Miller CHAIR	28/11/23	27/11/27	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4	None	4/4
14	Alex	Fong	29/11/22	28/11/26	CO-OPT / Governing Board	4	None	4/4
	Monique	de Jager	16/05/23	15/05/28	ASSOCIATE / Governing Board	4	Vice Chair of Govs at Sheringham Nursery School & Children Centre	4/4
	Saleh	Ahmed	30/11/21	29/11/25	ASSOCIATE / Governing Board	4		4/4

Former governors

The following were governors or associate members in this or the previous school year but are no longer governors or associate members:

Governor name	Date of appointment	Date of Leaving	Category/ Appointed by
Debashish Biswas	18/05/21	28/11/23	Co-opt/ GB
Ruzina Begum	15/10/20	14/10/24	Co-opt/ GB
Kyle Hayes	26/03/19	25/03/23	Co-opt/ GB

Committees and working groups

The governing board has the following committees which usually meet termly:

Personnel, Finance & Premises	Curriculum & Achievement	Children, Families & Community
Owen O'Regan	Fiona Tighe	Alex Fong
Antony Robson	Owen O'Regan	Owen O'Regan
India Miller	India Miller	Fiona Tighe
Saleh Ahmed	Kirsty Lowry	Fatima Kagwa (Chair)
Alex Fong (Chair)	Farhana Begum (Chair)	Kirsty Lowry
Kieran Wilson	Tim Harrington	Monique De Jager
Jamie Karia	Geoff Cannell	Ona Mareviciute
	Fatima Kagwa	Geoff Cannell
	Shalina Hussain	

The instrument of government (extract)